Mrs Flannery's Year 12 English Class

Let's learn together

Book Review – “Pride and Prejudice”

My all time favourite book is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

 When I was first given this book to read in my English class in year 10, I chucked it in the bottom of my schoolbag.  My friend, Pam, with whom I caught the train, started reading it right away.  I asked her what it was about and she started to tell me.  Every morning she would tell me what happened in the part she read the night before.  Before long I was hanging out to meet her on the train to find out what had happened.  Of course then I retrieved the book from the bottom of my schoolbag and started reading it myself.  I couldn’t put it down!

 Price and Prejudice was written in the 19th century and is about a family (The Bennetts) with 5 daughters.  At that time it was vital that girls found themselves a husband who had money and would look after them.  Women didn’t work in those days and there certainly wasn’t any government assistance.  Women were seen as weak and helpless! 

 In this story Mrs Bennett’s whole purpose in life is to marry her daughters off preferably to rich men.  One daughter, Elizabeth (Lizzy) is ahead of her time and does not want to be married off.  She is very proud.  Then along comes Darcy….who is very prejudice.

 This story has been claimed as the best love story every written.  Many stories from Mills and Boon to Bridget Jones’ Diary are based on it.

 What might put you off a little is the old fashioned language but once you get past the first couple of chapters you don’t even notice it.

 I recommend this novel for all girls/women from 13 years of age.   

 ***** 5 stars!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment